Starting a nano tank need help with plants (New Beginner)

MandoJr

Good Evening Everyone,

I need help selecting easy to care fresh water plants for my nano tank that I just purchased which is a aquatop pisces moden bullet-shaped glass aquarium, 5 gallon tank.  I'm new to the live fresh water plant hobby and I'm trying pick a few plants that won't overwhelm me as I start this new part of the hobby.  I need a couple of back ground plants, some mid ground plants and some foreground plants.  This is my plan so far. Can someone help guide me.
Cryptocoryne WendtII   added 3 to nano tank
Midground

Littorella Uniflora    add 5 or 6 to nano tank
Foreground

I have no idea what to get for background plants nor do I know if picked some plants that are forgiving.   Can someone please provide this novice some guidance.

Warm Regards,

Mando Jr.

Hi! Welcome to the forum. For a beginner I highly recommend Rhizone plants like Anubias and Java Fern (Windelov and Narrow Leaf are my favorites) The Rhizone plants have to be glued to something like a rock, wood or decoration. You can also float them or tie them to airline suction cups and put them along the aquarium walls. These are great plants because- they will propogate for you, they stay a good size for Nano tanks, are great for low tech tanks (like mine), and don't need anything special to survive. Plus they're common just about everywhere to buy. Narrow leaf would make a great background plant! Anubias Nana makes an awesome foreground plant- there are so many options and because they're not planted in substrate you can move them around!

Edited by xXInkedPhoenixX
Typos are lame
  • Like 5

Thank you everyone for the suggestions.   I've youtubed every plant suggested and believe I had made my choices. Thank you so much for the assistance.