AdamL

Hello!

I'm Adam from Wisconsin/Minnesota and I am new to the Aquarium Co-Op forum, shop, videos, etc, and trying to get back into having an aquarium at home. Tomorrow I get a new 40 gallon tank (I've only had 20 or less in the past), and I have been trying to do research on having a planted aquarium.

I am starting from scratch, and I have fluval plant/shrimp substrate and some carpet plant seeds. With substrate, do you suggest I add air stones, decorations, etc before laying the substrate down, or wait to add it until after? Also, do you suggest adding fish before or after adding live plants? A local fish shop had dwarf flame gouramis, anyone have experience with them, and have any tips?

Thanks!

On 11/4/2021 at 6:08 AM, AdamL said:

Hello!

I'm Adam from Wisconsin/Minnesota and I am new to the Aquarium Co-Op forum, shop, videos, etc, and trying to get back into having an aquarium at home. Tomorrow I get a new 40 gallon tank (I've only had 20 or less in the past), and I have been trying to do research on having a planted aquarium.

I am starting from scratch, and I have fluval plant/shrimp substrate and some carpet plant seeds. With substrate, do you suggest I add air stones, decorations, etc before laying the substrate down, or wait to add it until after? Also, do you suggest adding fish before or after adding live plants? A local fish shop had dwarf flame gouramis, anyone have experience with them, and have any tips?

Thanks!

Welcome , I would start with mature plants , seeds can be problematic, I tried once and couldn’t get a single good plant

• Like 1

On 11/4/2021 at 3:35 AM, Flumpweesel said:

I agree with @Helan seeds could be a new level of "fun" that slows you down at the start however I'm intrigued what are they are what are the instructions ?

Its small leaf grass seeds. I do plan on having mature plants added as well, just wanted to try these out too. If it doesn't work, the seeds werent expensive.