NEWBY. AM I READY FOR FISH

Kelly

I have my first tank set up (20gal) and have been testing the water at least once a week for about a month.  Ph 7.6/ PH HI RANGE 8 / AMMONIA 0 / NITRATE2  0/ NITRATE3 0.  I'm still having trouble digesting these parameters.  I sort of understand what they mean, but it seems to be different for different fish.  I just want to know if i am ready for fish.  The plan is 1 male betta, 10 celestial pearl danios, 4 panda cories and 2 nerite snails.  Maybe a few cherry shrimp (maybe).   I'm confused about the nitrate3, shouldn't it be higher?  Or does that come after adding fish?  I have added the bacteria as instructed but the parameters have not changed.  

Am I ready??!!  Thanks for your comments

20200925_075133.jpg

@Kelly  what did you use for an ammonia source?  Without fish or another source you can’t start the cycle. I’m not an expert on fishless cycling a tank, but the end result is nitrate in the water regardless. 

if u just add the betta with one or two live plants and watch the water quality carefully, you should be ok.  Just wait until you are seeing nitrates before, slowly, adding any more fish.  The live plants will bring in a tiny amount of good bacteria, use the ammonia and nitrate for food, and bettas love hiding in them.  The betta will naturally add ammonia, but should not flood the tank too quickly.

or you could add fish food and wait.  

Ken Burk is right--if you aren't getting nitrate at the end, your bacteria may not have any food, and if it WAS starting, it has stalled. 

Think of it like this: you want bacteria to clean up the toxic part of fish waste. You need to have enough bacteria to do that for all the poop from at least one fish, before you add one fish.