Sore on guppy?

Sunny

Hi guys! I’m new to guppies, and I saw two beautiful yellow males at the store on Saturday and bought them (no ladies- going back next week to see if any come in).

I put them in my QT tank, a 10 gallon with some random plants and pothos. I just finished using it as a QT tank for some cherry barbs and prior to that, it was a holding tank for my corys for a few months. I immediately dosed the med trio and put in 3 tbsp salt.

One of the males has been sitting on the little pile of crushed coral in the corner. He eats, and he comes up to greet me whenever I look at the tank, but he does keep retreating there. I turned the temp up a little. Today he seems to have a red sore forming and is gasping for breath. He is still eating. The other guppy seems fine.

My water has ph 6.8, and I put crushed coral to keep it from going lower, but I’ve never been able to get it higher. My water is 150-300 GH on the Coop test kit. I just took a reading on this tank and it’s at 10 nitrate, 0 nitrite, 150ish GH, 80KH (despite the crushed coral, that never really goes up either, and I’ve got 2 cups in there). 

I know my ph runs low for guppies, but I thought my hard water could make up for it. Is my thought process flawed, or is the sore an indication of something else?

Thanks!

D4075BB1-0516-41CE-9C10-F9A33BA69338.jpeg

The low KH and pH could have weaken his immune system making him more susceptible to illness this could be the start of a bacterial infection I would do a course of maracyn or kanaplex as well as adding the aquarium salt 

How much stuff is too much in the water? I’ve currently got:

-4 cups crushed coral

-3 tbsp salt; going to add two more

-api med cure, dosed Saturday 

-paraclense, dosed Saturday

-maracyn, dosed Saturday and today

Would adding equilibrium be overdoing it at this point? Or think it’ll go fine?

On 10/14/2021 at 11:22 PM, Sunny said:

-4 cups crushed coral