Sudden fish death after water change! help!

Lexi B

Hello all. I have a bit of a problem. Today I did about a 20-30% water change on my five gallon tank with 4 guppies and 4 pygmy corydoras in it. It's a temporary set up for a 20 gallon long. 

Before the water change, all of my fish were very happy and active as always. 

Within five minutes of the water change the guppies have started swimming extremely slowly, but the cories were in bothered. I don't know what exactly happened, but about an hour has passed. 

The guppies are still huddled in the corner of the tank and hardly moving and I found one of my poor baby cories dead!

I don't know what I did wrong. 

The tank is about 3 months old, fully cycled. 

It has 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, and typically 5 nitrate. The temperature stays at around 78 degrees. The pH is a solid 7.

I'm new to the hobby and I don't know what on earth I did wrong. The tank gets weekly water changes. 

My only thought is something went wrong with the tap water or the bucket I used.

(which was only ever meant for fish water)

So sorry to hear... it’s sad when we lose fish in the hobby. No ideas for sure, but here’s a couple possibilities:

(1) Was the temperature of the water you added close to that of the tank? If not, it can shock fish.

(2) Did you remember to add dechlorinator? Sometimes it’s easy to get distracted and forget. Chlorine or chloramine really can bother fish.

(3) Have you done a water test on your _tap_ water? Sometimes ours has a spike in ammonia, which can kill off sensitive fish. We use Fritz Complete water treatment, which (claims to) chemically bind ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate along with treating tap water for chlorine & chloramine. 

(4) Sometimes a water change with tap water that hasn’t “gassed off” (rested) will give fish something like the bends — what divers get — loads of tiny bubbles unsettle them.