Tank set up with hard water ideas

Hi, I am new to fish keeping ,but like everything else I find so many different answers to the same question. So come to you for advise. I’m setting up a 36 gallon tank for guppies. I have hard water form a well but live on sandy soil so PH is not bad,  Ive read some people will buy a RO system and use half and half water to solve this. Then Ive read about adding the different chemicals to tank or filter pellets  etc....to change your GH.    would love to hear what has worked for everyone.  Thanks so much Sandi

Howdy fellow horse person!

First, how hard is hard? Do you know pH/KH/GH from your well? No worries if not, but it helps. Ours is Rocky Mountain runoff so very hard as well, but well can be even “worse” at time.

Next, RO is totally an option, but is orders of magnitude more annoying. Emergency water changes etc are also harder if you notice a problem.

Most fish prefer consistent water rather than “perfect” water.

Thanks , i have read they like hard i have an API test kit it reads P.H 7.2 high range 7.8 ammonia 0.25 nitrite 0 ppm nitrate o ppm i only have a tetra easy strip test for GH so not sure i trust it I will order API’s kit for GH but paper strip saying very hard 300 or higher so that scared me a little. I have a 10 gallon now i keep 7 guppies in so I’m in no hurry to get fish in the 36 gallon tank trying to figure the best way to start cycling the tank. Thank you. All input super appreciated!

28 minutes ago, OceanTruth said:

If you're planning on housing guppies, you don't need to do a thing. Guppies like hard water.

38 minutes ago, AdamTill said:

Howdy fellow horse person!

First, how hard is hard? Do you know pH/KH/GH from your well? No worries if not, but it helps. Ours is Rocky Mountain runoff so very hard as well, but well can be even “worse” at time.

Next, RO is totally an option, but is orders of magnitude more annoying. Emergency water changes etc are also harder if you notice a problem.