Questions about a small tank project.

finn

Overview

Hello, I am new to creating live-planted aquariums and figured this would be a great place to ask questions!

I have found a nice starter tank kit from PetSmart that I am considering purchasing. It is around 3 gallons with a small filter and a powerful light. I have read some reviews that were overwhelmingly positive, aside from the usual one or two negatives. (I will attach images below.)

Questions (I apologize ahead of time)

1. The first topic I would love to ask questions about is plants. Which plants should I consider for a small 3-gallon freshwater tank with no CO2? I am trying to stay on budget for this tank build and am planning on using the plantable substrate provided with the tank, as aqua soil can be very expensive. I know that most carpeting plants are out of the question, but I would love them if there were any easy options. I am looking for hardy, durable plants that are very friendly to beginners.

2. Where I live, there is a lot of driftwood in the area that would look nice in a planted aquarium, but I have read that you need to boil the wood or let it soak for over a month. Should I try to figure out how to get tannins out of the driftwood or just buy it from an aquatic store? The same goes for the larger rocks in my build. 

3. What advice would you give for keeping water crystal clear and keeping plants healthy and vibrant?

4. How long should I let my tank cycle before adding plants to the aquarium? I have read to wait at least 3–4 weeks before adding cherry shrimp, which is my ultimate goal; additionally, how many should I add to a tank of this size? This is the correct information. 

Conclusion

Thank you so much for your time. All advice is very much appreciated! 💙

Screenshot 2024-06-27 185746.png

Screenshot 2024-06-27 185852.png

• Like 1

I add my plants right away.  They usually love the extra nutrients from the cycling process.