Hi & help me set up a 125g

wackbards

Hi All, I'm a Snohomish county local who got back into fish ~1 year ago after 30 years.  I've been going deep down the Co-op rabbit hole, and now have a 20 long, a 40 breeder, and a 300 gallon pond I'm attempting to overwinter in a greenhouse. 

I've had the 40 breeder setup for about a year while I dial in on the plant & animal husbandry. Now with CO2, I'm feeling pretty dialed in on this setup.  However, I'm just bursting out of it, and I'm getting ready to transfer most of the fish & plant stock over to a 125g.  What I'm wishing to do is re-home my 3 pear gouramis, as the male is just super shy, and spooks even if I look at the tank from across the room.  With the expanded capacity, I'm looking to add angelfish and some jurupari's. I'm pretty new at this, but see my plan below.  I'm open to feedback on... everything!

here's the 40b that will seed the new 125g:

20221122_131028.jpg.5aad9ed207668e9a87633223fcfabcb4.jpg

here's the layout & stocking plan for the new 125g.  The only fish stocking changes I've noted are the removal of the 3 gouramis, and the addition of angelfish and jurupari's:

125g setup.jpg

• Like 6

I picked up a dozen bags of black Activ Flora black sand from the retail store.  I'm planning on using it as my one & only substrate.  Not sure if 12 bags will be enough, but we'll see how it looks here in a couple days. The 40B started with Flourite, that I eventually capped with the Activ Flora, but that was a pain...  The rock & wood I already have.  I ended up pulling most of the wood out as the plants took over, but the rock is still TDC in the 40b.  You can see it in the pic above with a Annubias growing out of it.  It's gotta be at least a square foot.  I currently have it stuck in the substrate at an angle, but I think I'll lay it more flat with pieces of driftwood poking out from underneath.  But, again, I'm a total noob at aquascaping.  I can't even hang a picture without making my wife frown.