Building acrylic tanks any advice?

Has anyone ever done an acrylic build? Any tips? Any suggestions? I have no experience  gluing them but think my build plan will probably work well (until it doesnt)

I will practice a bit on thinner material to make a "puffer fry box" on a smaller scale to get the technique down a bit before going for it on the tank material order.   

The current plan is to have cast cell 3/8" acrylic cut to my exact dimensions and  build basically a "43 breeder" tank (or a few) that are 38x23x12 black bottom back and sides clear front panel. Not cheap but a decent upgrade to my rack systems. 

Acrylic is just easier to move and work with weight wise vs glass for me as a bit of a broken vet. A side benefit is it would not bust a seam since there are no seams to burst in a rare worst case event. 

The draft draft idea.

My top would be 1/4" double wall polycarbonate panels cut to need . Not pictured are acrylic bracing somewhere along the top likely 3" strips at center and both ends 

(Height shortened to 12" tall since I powerpoint'd this idea)

733287763_Screenshot_20220810-095101_YahooMail.jpg.d17fb7637ef683847389ae4f06260ce0.jpg656070410_Screenshot_20220810-095044_YahooMail.jpg.96b54abfd718d3a98ef98480430e00a0.jpg

Any response most appreciated 

• Love 1

On 8/17/2022 at 10:52 PM, mountaintoppufferkeeper said:

Any response most appreciated

I have but have never built acrylic tanks.  If you are looking for practical advice on building acrylic tanks, @eatyourpeas is your gal.  She built the tank for her Puget Sound Biotope tank.  Your looks like a cool project and I hope to get to see it successfully come together here.

• Thanks 1

From a design standpoint, the center bracing would make adding or removing the dividers complicated. It looks like you're making them removable, but a center brace would complicate that a lot. (You don't need the slots if you're not making the dividers removable.)