Single quarantine tank or double? - Quarantining Platties and Cory cats

ReeseADHD

I have a a shipment of fish coming in later this week and I need advice on the best method of quarantining. I have a dedicated 9 gallon tank I use for quarantine. I'm not sure if it would be appropriate to quarantine 7 platties and 6 Julii corys together for 1-2 weeks in such a small volume of water. If need be I can set up an "emergency" 10 gallon quarantine tank with spare equipment to split them up but it wouldn't be ideal for my living situation & I'm not sure I trust this 10 gallon to hold water. I really don't want to wake up to a blown-out/leaking aquarium. 

I'm going to use the med trio and feed once lightly on the 3rd day of quarantine.

Any suggestions? 

Edited by Lucid_Reese
Rewording for better comprehension

I’ve heard the med trio messes with the cycle, I have no first hand experience with it though I do not preemptively medicate. In that small if it does spikes can happen quick. I use totes and cycled filters for qt.  This may give you options other than an untrusted tank. I store fish equipment in them when they are not in use to make them practical to have instead of just taking up space. 

• Like 2

On 4/24/2022 at 1:58 PM, Lucid_Reese said:

If need be I can set up an "emergency" 10 gallon quarantine tank with spare equipment to split them up but it wouldn't be ideal for my living situation & I'm not sure I trust this 10 gallon to hold water. I really don't want to wake up to a blown-out/leaking aquarium. 

If they come in at the same time, you can QT them together. If they come from different sources, I would QT them separately.

• Like 1

On 4/24/2022 at 7:28 PM, nabokovfan87 said:

If they come in at the same time, you can QT them together. If they come from different sources, I would QT them separately.

They're coming from the same source but do you think a 9 gallon can handle the bioload of 7 platties and 6 Corries for 1-2 weeks?