why don't we ever talk about sulfur and plant nutrition ?

CT_

of course NPK get a lot of attention and next to calcium and magnesium sulfur is the next most abundant nutrient.  But I don't see it in any plant deficiency chart and I don't see it in easy green either. 

Is fish food so loaded with sulfur that it never matters?

I’m not a scientist/chemist or very good with the nutrients stuff but I do do terrestrial gardening where it is talked about.  I’m out on a limb with my guess here so please be kind.  
The suffer smell in dechlorinators…could this just always add sufficient sulfur that it is never deficient so never paid attention to? 

• Like 1

On 3/17/2022 at 9:22 AM, Guppysnail said:

I’m not a scientist/chemist or very good with the nutrients stuff but I do do terrestrial gardening where it is talked about.  I’m out on a limb with my guess here so please be kind.  
The suffer smell in dechlorinators…could this just always add sufficient sulfur that it is never deficient so never paid attention to? 

I think because it is a micro with little impact (just a guess) as opposed to NPK which is usually the culprit in most visible deficiencies. 

Im still waiting for the question of "why won't my plant flower" so i can share my limited fertilizer knowledge and ask if their fert of choice supplements Boron, which ive read is important in flowering 🤣

• Like 1

On 3/16/2022 at 11:36 PM, CT_ said:

of course NPK get a lot of attention and next to calcium and magnesium sulfur is the next most abundant nutrient.  But I don't see it in any plant deficiency chart and I don't see it in easy green either. 

Is fish food so loaded with sulfur that it never matters?

Hi @CT_