Scuds: What are your thoughts?

BeetleLann

Hello CARE Friends,

Alanna from Canada here.

I'm still quite new to the hobby, and I'm searching to learn more about scuds. I'm posting on this forum because this community is the most receptive and knowledgeable that I've across! I've done some reading on scuds here and there, and overall, I do not think they are harmful to an aquarium. However, I think I have an infestation in my 10 gallon planted betta tank. They're all up in the substrate and filter media. I do not like them, per se, but I feel bad killing them. I have been reducing feeding to try and cut back on the amount of waste they could be feeding on, but they seem to be thriving.

What do you guys think about scuds? Any recommendations on how I should handle this situation? Thanks :)

• Like 1

They are harmless and act as a good cleanup crew if you do not have shrimp or snails. Your betta may even be snacking on a few as a live food source. I love this forum because no one is panicky over natural things but they do provide useful info on those things so folks can make educated decisions. 

• Like 3
  • Thanks 1
  • Love 1

On 11/13/2021 at 9:44 AM, BeetleLann said:

What do you guys think about scuds? Any recommendations on how I should handle this situation? Thanks 🙂

You can leave them be. If they start going after the plants they could be problematic, but chances are the population will diminish if there is not enough food.

• Like 4

I would consider slowing down on feeding the Betta and see if that will help him develop an appetite for scuds.  Most Bettas like them and they are an excellent food source for them along with environmental enrichment.  I don’t see many scuds in my Betta’s tank and he’s spoiled enough he doesn’t even eat the dwarf shrimp I have in there!  I’m sure he snacks on the scuds.