I live in LA with ridiculously hard water and ph 8.2

k0olmini

So I live near LA and our water is pretty much liquid rock and has high pH. I’ve been told by my LFS that cichlids and livebearers. I’ve been told any fish from the Amazon (most of the popular fish) would not do well in this water. Has anyone had experience/success breeding fish that don’t prefer these conditions? The only fish I’ve had spawn is bronze cory dora but theyve eaten their eggs. 

You could try lowering naturally with lots of plants and tannins this will take time and might not get you down where you want to get. Or mix in bottled water ive used this water and had good results.BE7862F4-EFAC-42A1-B705-E3745D08DA23.jpeg.52ae53d2c6986a503fe6fdb34eb843a2.jpeg

It has minerals add to it. You would have to experiment and find a mix to get the PH your looking for.

Or get a RO system I have no experience with those so I can’t speak on that.

With all that said most fish IMO will adapt to your parameters. Will they be in optimal conditions, no but they will live long healthy lives. You might not get them to breed under those conditions tho.

This all just my opinion from my experience. I’m by no means an authority on this subject.

One idea is to decide on a species you want to try, find it, ask the store to test the water parameters of that tank, and ask how long the fish have been in that tank (to confirm that they're surviving the store's parameters.) That will give you a starting point to then slowly adjust from.