Shopping for Fish Bins

goldfish

Hi everybody,

I'm relatively new to the hobby, but I have been having a blast making small, filterless planted tanks. I want to go bigger, however, and I don't want to shell out money for giant glass aquariums. I was intrigued by the giant black bins that Cory has in his shop and would love to get some of my own to fill with plants and algae and goldfish and such. Keeping goldfish is a dream of mine, and I want to give them the space to get big! The thing is, I have no idea where to look. Does anyone have any experience in this area/know what brand Cory uses for his shop?

Here are some questions I have:

Will any plastic bin work from Home Depot work, or should I buy something specifically made to stock with fish?
Do I need to buy bins that won't deteriorate in sunlight/the weather (if I decide to keep them outside)?
Can bins be toxic to fish?

Any information you guys have would be much appreciated. Thank you so much for reading.

Hmm. The source for Cory's large bins has been posted before but I could not find it. Basically they are industrial tubs used for storing apples and they cost hundreds of dollars so they're not a 'bargain' option necessarily. Maybe someone else can find that post and link to them.

Lots of people use the "Commander" brand or similar storage totes from Lowe's, etc.: but only up to a certain size--, because larger sizes will bow out on the sides due to the weight of the water. I don't think any of them are really large enough for mature goldfish. Lots of fishkeepers keep guppies and minnows outside in the summer in these, I am not sure how long they would hold up to freezing.

Tractor Supply and places like that have Tuff Stuff 100 gallon stock tanks which many people use for outdoor pond setups. These are low price for the size, are cold hardy, and hold more gallons than the storage totes. You can see one in this video:

• Like 1