Aggressive red cherry shrimp?!

Penny

Hi Everyone.. I've got a heavily planted nano tank with 6 red cherry shrimp.

Because they came from my other colony I picked one female and 5 male. They've been there a couple of months happily bumbling about doing their thing.

Today noticed the female is very berried... then one of the males 'attacked' her! he got her on her back and it looked like he 'bit' her eggs! she hid and he chased her and did it again.

Do you think I need to rescue her? or was he just in the mood and didn't realise she was already pregnant? I could put in another female that's almost ready

• Like 1

Though I am not a shrimp expert, but I would take her out. My understanding that shrimp (as well as other aquatic critters) are best kept with 3to1 ratios of females to males because the males can be aggressive toward the females when they want to mate. Though again, I do not know this for a fact this is what is happening, many other male animal species will attempt to remove any offspring that are not their own. So he may very well be attempting to remove her current eggs to make his own. Or, he may just be introducing normal mating behavior (cannot say I have ever seen shrimp in the process. However, with so many males to one pregnant female, those are going to be some unhappy males attempting to all get at one female. So I would take her out and change up the ratio with 3 females to every 1 male. This cuts down on aggression in other aquatic species, so my guess is it will here too.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

On 6/25/2021 at 6:14 AM, Penny said:

Hi Everyone.. I've got a heavily planted nano tank with 6 red cherry shrimp.

Because they came from my other colony I picked one female and 5 male. They've been there a couple of months happily bumbling about doing their thing.