Hello! Attempt 2 with fish, sponge filter question

Hello! I am a returning Newb to the fish keeping community. A few years ago I got a 39 gallon aquarium but I didn't know much and made a bunch of mistakes, when I lost the last of my fish I drained the tank and let it alone. I have since moved and am Getting back into the hobby with a 75g, keeping the 39 as a quarantine tank and am wanting to try plants this time. I have been listening to a bunch of YouTube videos and reading up on fish so I feel I am much better informed this time. I am having some questions regarding the Sponge filters, with a 75 gallon, should I look into getting more than one sponge filter or will a single Large be enough?

"large enough" is different things for different people. From a biofiltration, safe-for-your-fish standpoint, one will be enough unless you are wildly overstocked. From a water circulation (therefore algae prevention) standpoint many of us prefer 2, even if that means 2 smaller ones or one and an airstone only in the other end. If you mean spotlessly clean water with no water changes or vaccuming required, um...you may not be happy with sponge filters. Or possibly aquariums for that matter.

The reality is that there is no such thing as a completely maintinance free tank. You just choose which chores are the least objectionable. Sponge filters are reliable low maintenance biofiltration that provide gentle flow, and they are cheap. You will still need to remove detritus or plant matter, or something, and add fresh water.

• Like 3

24 minutes ago, Brandy said: