I’m in the process of setting up my first planted aquarium. The plan is have either a single species of tetras or a bunch of similar sized tetras in different colors. Maybe flame tetras, lemon tetras, or Columbia blue tetras as examples.

The tank is appx 40 gal and is 20w x 18d x 25 tall. So not a large footprint, but I have height. 

I’m a visual person and, as I’ve never done plants before, I’m having a hard time deciding on what plants to order and where to put them when they arrive. 

Is there such a thing as a “blueprint” that I could look at examples and the just follow the “recipe”?

the problem is, is there are so many choices. i would spend some time here looking at pictures of others planted tanks, and even hit youtube up and look at planted tank video's.  this will probably help to see what type of plants you will like, and pick up some tips on their care. i dont currently have any, but i really like a pile of ember tetras in a heavily planted tank. again so many choices. good luck in picking out what you like.

@lefty o so many choices is right!  I think that’s why I’m a bit overwhelmed and undecided. I’ve seen so many amazing setups, both via this forum and youtube, but I know I can’t do it all.

I’m considering ordering one of each of Cory’s Top 5 Easy Aquarium plants  (https://www.aquariumcoop.com/blogs/aquarium/top-5-easy-aquarium-plants?_pos=1&_sid=ee00e6814&_ss=r) or the ones on his Top 10 Easy Aquarium Plants for Beginners (https://www.aquariumcoop.com/blogs/aquarium/easy-aquarium-plants?_pos=4&_sid=ee00e6814&_ss=r)

I know some/most will spread, but reality tells me I might kill a few, too.  Five plants doesn’t seem like enough, but is 10 too many?

So many options 🤯