New to forum, fish keeping, & African Cichlids

LaurieinIA

I’m new to using forums and posted this last evening, but realized today it ended up as a reply to another topic... still learning more than just fish keeping 🤷🏻‍♀️

I have a “new” African cichlid tank... set up in August.  I’m new to the hobby, but felt like I got thru the initial cycling, etc without getting too frustrated. I expected some fish loss as I learned, But... I’m thinking of throwing in the towel.

Somewhere along the line I guess I ended up with a bully.  After a large handful of obvious and/or suspected murders, I pulled the killer and replaced the lost fish.  The “bully cycle” started again shortly after. More observation led me to believe I may have traded out the wrong fish. I put the new “problem fish” into a basket rigged into the aquarium for a couple of weeks as I decided how to proceed.  Still lost 1, maybe 2, during that time but thought I’d see it the “time out” helped.  I released that fish and the murders picked up again, so now he’s gone, too. 

Unfortunately, I’ve lost 2 more since then.  One might have been a freak accident due to a falling rock and getting stuck between decor and the glass, but the other was completely out of the blue today.

Water tests always come out good. No signs of health issues... the one that I found dead today seemed perfectly happy this morning.  He’s my 3rd death in exactly 3 weeks... 

I was advised to keep 16-20 fish in my aquarium. I’m now down to 12, but I’m hesitant to buy more since, overall, I’ve lost more fish than I’d like to admit.  Partially from the learning curve, partially from whatever is killing them.  

Any ideas?  Or should I have thrown in the towel a long time ago?

I’d like to keep it going, but not if I’m going to go broke replacing dead fish.  It’s not like these are 50 cents a piece

Edited by LaurieinIA
Grammar
  • Like 1

40 gallon. Currently have 1 Mbuna, 3 labs, 3 blue dolphins, and 5 peacocks. All are small now.