Snail disappeared left behind shell

Pretty much what the title says...I had a pest snail that was my tanks first inhabitant, came in on plants and grew up in my tank over the last 4 months. I have RCS, 2 mystery snails and a bristlenose. Yesterday I did notice the snail looking like he was stretching his body, I didn't think anything of it, he's done it before, but today I found his empty shell, totally cleaned out. Tank mates have shown no interest in him from what I saw and all the parameters are in check. Thoughts? 

Yeah I agree. Sounds like your snail is in snail heaven. This happened to me once and about 2 weeks later I found an assassin snail in my tank. It must have hitched a ride on some plants or something.

On 3/26/2024 at 2:46 PM, cryptkeeper said:

How long do those pest snails usually live?

Thats hard to say. I am by no means a snail expert but I don't believe there a snail actually called a pest snail. It was most likely either a rams horn or nerite or some other form of common snail that just hitched a ride on some plants.  But in general, I think snails live about a year.

Edited by NOLANANO
  • Like 1

Google says they can live 2-3 years. Maybe he was old? If your mystery snails also go missing, you probably have an assassin snail in the tank. They are kind of hard to spot because they burry themselves in the substrate and only come out at night,

• Like 1

Sounds like a pond snail. I’ve observed my pond snails do that sometimes and I would also see their body outside of the shell (already dead) and I just leave them in there for the other snails to eat. I have hundreds of empty shells in my 20 long

• Like 1

Bladder and pond snails are so small, I think they breakdown pretty fast after they die.  I've bigger snails that die (like mystery snails) get pecked at a for a few hours by fish and eventually get cleaned out of the shell.

• Like 1