Best types of substrate for planted tanks and how to be cost effective with them

Dork Fish

So I know that there is no hard and fast rule on the topic of substrate, but I have seen a ton of conflicting info on the matter. Being that I am brand new to planted tanks, and fish keeping in general, it is difficult to know what information is good and what information should be ignored.

Here is my question: What are the best types of substrate for planted tanks? Are bio-substrate really worth the money? and how can someone be cost effective about acquiring substrate? (the stuff is expensive 0_0)

I.E. Do different plants prefer different substrates? Can any type of sand/soil work, or does it have to be a certain type of sand/soil? etc.

Any knowledge that y'all can help me attain is definitely appreciated 🙂

For a 75 gallon tank, you could always use organic potting mix capped with pool filter sand. The cap would have to be 2 inches at least. 

The only downside is the substrate can't be disturbed too much. Otherwise you'll have a mess. 

My 10 gallon has fluval stratum currently. I hate it. My tank has been most successful with aquasoil capped with pool filter sand.

• Like 1

On 6/19/2023 at 5:37 PM, Dork Fish said:

@Pepere That is good to know. I have been looking into what to use for my 75 gallon tank. Almost had a heart attack when I did the math for 2 inches of substrate 0_0

When I filled mine... the math was about 1/2-3/4" per bag.  When I filled the tank it was about that 1/2" depth.  This was with a big bag of the UNS contrasoil.  Feel free to compare that size / volume to other substrates. 

I would recommend something like 3 bags per 75G as a bare minimum.  How do you "fill the space"?  There's usually a few methods.

1.  You start the base with cheaper, substrate that is often of larger pore size like gravel or lava rock pieces.  (ada power sand is similar thing, but I believe it's pumice covered with nutrients)