Longfin Neon Tetra Project

DavidMoss

I have been growing out these LF neons for a couple of months now and I have tried to breed them by putting them in a container with RO water and Rhyzomat fiber but I haven’t had any luck getting eggs. I’m thinking maybe I’m having a problem sexing them since they all look like plump females. I’ve also gotten 2 normal males incase the LF males can’t breed but still nothing. My next attempt will be trying them with Java moss and a sponge filter in a 2.5g tank but any advice would be helpful. 

B2073827-B48B-4E1E-8BFE-281B39A80525.jpeg

0F0ACB03-293B-42B8-8977-2733517A7F52.jpeg

88E11905-2272-4D06-AE56-5EE8747467B9.jpeg

On 2/25/2023 at 9:38 PM, DavidMoss said:

I have been growing out these LF neons for a couple of months now and I have tried to breed them by putting them in a container with RO water and Rhyzomat fiber but I haven’t had any luck getting eggs. I’m thinking maybe I’m having a problem sexing them since they all look like plump females. I’ve also gotten 2 normal males incase the LF males can’t breed but still nothing. My next attempt will be trying them with Java moss and a sponge filter in a 2.5g tank but any advice would be helpful. 

B2073827-B48B-4E1E-8BFE-281B39A80525.jpeg

0F0ACB03-293B-42B8-8977-2733517A7F52.jpeg

88E11905-2272-4D06-AE56-5EE8747467B9.jpeg

Hey David! They may need a "dirty" "seeded" "algae covered" "densely planted" (sorry for that mini rant) tank to feel comfortable enough to spawn for the first time. With many of my failed attempts, it turned out I was trying too hard, especially so for first time spawning groups.

On 2/25/2023 at 10:22 PM, Dtolb15 said:

Hey David! They may need a "dirty" "seeded" "algae covered" "densely planted" (sorry for that mini rant) tank to feel comfortable enough to spawn for the first time. With many of my failed attempts, it turned out I was trying too hard, especially so for first time spawning groups.