Hello from a Shrimpy Guy

AlexL

Hello everyone!

I've been keeping aquariums on and off for about 12 years now, started with reef aquariums but the vast majority of my time has been with low-tech planted nano tanks. I've kept some Corydoras habrosus before (they are so adorable), but I'm not really the fish keeping type, instead my love is for invertebrates. I get excited over hitchhiking snails, but Red Cherry Shrimp in particular have been my favorite in the hobby for years.

I'm in the middle of some tank transitions, so I've been doing a lot of research for ideas so I decided to join. I recently took down at 10g planted shrimp tank in the dining room, which left me with only a 2g planted shrimp cube next to my desk, but I also plan to take it down soon. I recently started a planted vase that's still cycling, but I more importantly I just setup a dark start cycle on a 3 gallon future home of plants and shrimp will go on the bookshelf in the dining room (I'll probably start a journal on that one).

2 gallon cube:

image.jpeg.363db17c5f39534a78c55f67939c2aea.jpeg

A little Red Cherry Shrimp:

image.jpeg.6e022858fb3eff3501f674af6068b03b.jpeg

New planted vase:IMG_5115.jpeg.35a05fbb974c7fb3f05f7c7c88ab92ae.jpeg

• Like 5
  • Love 2

• 4 weeks later...

@AlexL, a belated welcome to you, and that vase looks amazing. What kind of light do you have over it? I've been thinking of setting up a 5g plants and shrimp only tank on my desk at work but recently seeing people's vases has sparked an interest in using a vase instead. The curved glass is so much a part of the design in yours--looks great!

• Like 1

On 2/6/2023 at 6:34 PM, PineSong said: