Water Parameters

Hello everyone, 

I'm new to the hobby and I wanted to know if my water parameters are good for starting a shrimp tank and for keeping fish or do I have to make any adjustments?

I currently have livebearers and two gouramis.

I tested the water parameters using the freshwater Master test kit. I did the off-gassing test (aeration test ) and this is what I got:

Sun 8/14/22 Tank water parameters:

• Ammonia: 0 ppm
  • Nitrite: 0 ppm
  • Nitrate: 0 ppm
  • pH: 6.6 or  6.8 ( It was hard to differentiate the colors if it was 6.6 or 6.8 but looked more like it was 6.6)
  • KH: 35.8 ppm
  • GH: 196.9 ppm

Results after testing my tap water ( Tested on 8/14/22) 

• Ph: 7.6
  • High range ph: 8.4 or 8.8 ( It was hard to differentiate the colors but it looked more like it was 8.8)
  • Kh: 125.3 ppm
  • GH:  161.1 ppm

Off-gassing test 24 Hr result (Tested on 8/15/22 (Mon after letting my tap water sit for 24 hrs with an air stone):

• pH: It was either 7.6 or 7.2 but looked more like it was 7.6
  • High range: 8.0 
  • KH: 143.2 ppm
  • GH: 179 ppm

Water parameters of my tank after doing 50% water change yesterday on Tue (8/15/22):

• pH: 7.2
  • KH: 53.7 ppm
  • GH: 143.2 ppm

Thank you in advance

Edited by Tropicalfishkeeping201

I am by no means an expert at shrimp and just got my first shrimp a few months ago but I can share what I have learned. It entirely depends on what kind of shrimp you get and what parameters they were raised in. Many shrimp breeders use RO water and remineralize it so it's important to check with them what ph, gh and kh they bred them in. I intentionally sought out someone raising them in harder water for this reason. Yours isn't as hard as mine but it's something to consider.