How to feed fry when on Vacation

Judobadger

I am new to fish breeding but have had some success and have multiple tanks with fry and or eggs.  With new fry I have been feeding BBS every few hours during the day.  I am thinking ahead to this summer when we will go camping and adult fish can easily weather the time without feeding I wonder how long young fry can be left (hours, days, etc) and how I can feed them as needed when I cant be there.  I didn't see a Dean video on this so I am hoping to lean on the communities experience here.

• Like 2

On 3/8/2022 at 11:16 AM, Judobadger said:

I am new to fish breeding but have had some success and have multiple tanks with fry and or eggs.  With new fry I have been feeding BBS every few hours during the day.  I am thinking ahead to this summer when we will go camping and adult fish can easily weather the time without feeding I wonder how long young fry can be left (hours, days, etc) and how I can feed them as needed when I cant be there.  I didn't see a Dean video on this so I am hoping to lean on the communities experience here.

I’m in a similar situation. I hire a friend to feed once per day for two weeks. I set out food in measured daily containers to keep it easy. It works for adult fish, but for some tiny fry, you may well lose them unfortunately. Fry could do better in a safe, seasoned / mature planted tank with loads of micro-life to nibble at. But where feeding is essential, it’s a burden.

A thought has gone through my mind to unobtrusively take some fry and BBS hatchery along on vacation… (my wife is not in love with this idea…)

• Haha 4

On 3/8/2022 at 1:09 PM, xXInkedPhoenixX said:

Awwe @Fish Folk, taking them on vacation with you. Cute. You'd think wifey would be used to the fish obsession by now lol. 

I think as long as it stays in the basement, we’re at a truce. Squirreling away a fry tank or two amongst the luggage en route to the beach... 😬

• Haha 2