Potential legislative change that will impact fish imports/trade in U.S.?

813aquatics

Hey all,

A local hobbyist shared this with us today and on a first quick read through it seems like it may be significant, but I am not a lawyer. Any one more learned than me know about this or understand if it will change the status quo?

https://usark.org/2022lacey/

From the link:

“Briefly, the amendments will:

1. Provide that the Lacey Act bans the interstate transport of species listed as injurious. Specifically, it replaces Lacey’s current language ‘‘shipment between the continental United States’’ with ‘‘transport between the States.”
  3. Create a “white list” of species that can be imported. This means that any animal (reptile, amphibian, fish, bird, mammal, invertebrate) that is not on the white list is by default treated as an injurious species and is banned from importation.
  5. Create a new authority allowing FWS to use an “emergency designation” that becomes effective immediately after being published in the Federal Register unless an extension of no more than 60 days is allowed. That means no due process, public input, hearings, advanced notice, etc. for injurious listings.
  7. Permit FWS to not allow importation if a species has not been imported in “minimal quantities” (to be defined) in the year prior to the enactment of this Act.
  8. The effective date would be one year after the enactment of this Act.”

Huh, I wonder what species will not be on the white-list. Probably anything that could become invasive? That definitely seems like it could impact the hobby but also the white list could cover everything we keep anyways. I am interested to see if there are any lawyer Nerms here 😃!

• Like 1

Interesting that they're taking a 'white list' approach instead of a 'black list.'