Corydoras Growth Rate?

CalmedByFish

I'm not sure about adult size - I'm still learning about the cories; however, I have several peppered cories and just love them.  When I got them in November, they were about an inch long.  They're about an inch and a half now, but I haven't seen any indication of breeding activity.  Okay, I'm not sure I'd recognize it if I saw it.

On 1/6/2022 at 10:55 PM, CalmedByFish said:

I recently bought Corydoras paleatus (Peppered Cories.) They're only an inch long. I'm finding mixed answers about their growth rate and breeding age.

How old were your cories when they got to adult size? 

Female peppered cories will grow to 2.5 inches (maybe a little longer) and males just over 2 inches long at full size I think. Mine spawned in late October last year and the babies are still not yet full size (they are almost there!), but by the looks of it they are mature and ready to breed.

This is what they should look like when full size, so it does take them a while to grow! (female left, male right)

Parents.jpg.9c00c10169b81eb23cb528bd5840cd32.jpg

Just over a month old:

298043665_Justoveramonth.jpg.61a37abcbeb995f5efa5ab8ff6814ba7.jpg

Over two months:

1752178167_Twomonths.jpg.3956bb26550e8f6dc10b8c743d032a12.jpg

In comparison to its mother in the behind the plant:

206459930_Overtwomonths.jpg.9a729196841e46f541b1670772648a5d.jpg

Just under a year old (female):

DSC_9563.JPG.2b2ab11df910d930f646e5e938464949.JPG

So I'd say over a year to reach full size, and probably around 8 months as @Fish Folk said to be ready to breed.

I hope this helps!

• Like 1
  • Love 1

@Fish Folk That was way cool. Thank you. Key take-aways I caught: My little cories might benefit from a small piece of a catappa leaf (I can add it tomorrow), and they need to be more than a year old to breed. Correct me if I'm wrong or you think I missed something. I suppose I need to be more concerned about their current health than their future growth!