Bonjour from Québec, Canada

Karen B.

Greetings!

I am new in the hobby - I was looking for something to distract me from my chronic disease and reduce my anxiety. Turns out that now I have one more thing to be anxious about... my fish! Ask Candi if you have any doubts! (I did become a member as a way to say thank you for her patience).

I love water, I used to scuba dive, my favorite animal has always been the orca - so aquarium are just a pure joy for me. It’s a bit complicated as I am immunosuppressed and must avoid any contact with fish water (poop = risk of salmonella) but I still manage to enjoy keeping them (with my oversized rubbed gloves that go all the way up to my shoulders).

I don’t know anyone locally that enjoy or keep fish, so I am looking forward to make friends here to talk about fish.

I currently have a 20 gallons high with 9 white cloud minnow and 3 dwarf mexicain crayfish (cpo). I have a 10 gallons cycling too - for guppies or platies, I can’t quite make up my mind yet! All with plastic plants because... I don’t like plants. Please don’t ban me! Hehe. Now I know Cory will never ever speak to me! Plants don’t like me either - I was attacked by my dead cactus... I have yet to fully recover 🤪

My next dream aquarium would be a 40 gallons breeder. Planted this time, with a bunch of false julii cory, 4 honey gourami, 1 apisto and 1 bolivian ram. And a schooling fish that I have yet to figure out (maybe green or black neon tetra?)

I live in Québec, Canada, which means I can’t order anything from Aquarium Co-op and it makes me very, very sad. Even more annoying because Cory is such a good seller (x-treme food anyone?). And the stickers... 😍

It also means we do not have access to fish medication here. If you want to be able to give something to your fish, it must be prescribed by a vet. I kid you not. I have a hard time thinking that bringing my fish in a ziploc bag at the vet is yet the best way to go to treat him but... 🤷🏻‍♀️