What am I doing wrong?

Piscarius

Hello my fellow piscatorial patrons. I have 1 or more issues going on that I can not pin down, and I have learned of 1 mistake I have to deal with. So I will give you the foundation, and then I have several questions that I will try to catalog in a logical manner. I was very active in the hobby years ago (my degree is in Aquaculture), but life, kids, 7 moves to 6 towns in 3 states, and the aquarium hobby has taken a hit.