Inter-sexed bettas?

lrl251

Hi everyone,

I'm a novice fish keeper. I recently read an article (https://www.theatlantic.com/science/archive/2021/05/betta-fish-sex-determination/618889/) that talked about how male bettas can sometimes by XX and females can also be XY. I'm not an expert on genetics so I was wondering if anyone knew if there are visible signs of a male or female presenting betta carrying the opposite chromosome? I've had two bettas that looked almost like they were a mix of both sexes. I have a beautiful male betta with a large belly area (it's not bloat and he's not sick), and who seems to be missing his beard? Even his ventrals seem a little bit suspect, but his anal and caudal fins definitely look male. After reading the article, I started wondering if maybe I had a male who used to be a female? Or is it more likely that I just have a feminine-looking male betta? I've also had females that I was told look like males but I'm not sure if the XX/XY change works that way. 

On 6/17/2021 at 5:44 PM, lrl251 said:

Hi everyone,