Will aquatic pets be abandoned after the pandemic?

SWilson

Hey everyone.  I hope this is not a controversial topic - I don't mean it to be.  And I hope it's appropriate for the forum. It's just something that's been on my mind and I'm posting this in the spirit of learning and hopefully being useful to my own community if the future. 

I'm new to aquatic petkeeping, but with other types of companion animals - there are many booms and busts in terms of the number of people aquiring animals.  In the bust, many pets end up surrendered to shelters.  I'm sure everyone's seen that throughout the pandemic many many people have been getting new pets, given that many folks were spending much more time at home (to put it mildly).  I'm sure there are many new "pandemic fishkeepers" like me out there.  

Do we expect that, after the pandemic, there will be some number of aquatic pets surrendered back to the stores or even to animal shelters?  It would be understandable.  When that happens, does anyone have experience organizing with local fish clubs/stores/friends to try to help find new homes for as many of these animals as possible?  I would think that this would be beneficial to the animals -- as they could end up in experienced homes -- and to local fish stores, as they wouldn't have to bear as much of the burden of taking in these animals. 

I imagine a local fish club could set something up with a fish store where, when a store recieves a surrendered fish or tank or whatever, then emails or calls the club who sends out a notice among members for a "foster" or forever home.  Basically like how dog and cat rescues work.  Maybe there are places that are already doing this...  

I recently joined my local fish club (San Francisco Aquarium Society) but I don't really know anyone and don't really know how to get in touch since they're not doing meetings currently.