Upgrading current HOB filter

I currently have a Marineland Penguin power filter 150 with the bio wheel that the store recommended. After watching the Aquarium Co-Op video on upgrading your filter and replacing the throw away cartridges I decided that is the way to go.  I want to purchase the Co-Op sponge pad coarse, bio rings and amonia filter pad to replace the disposable one. What order would I place the filter media for best results, or is there a better solution. Beginner here, not sure, any suggestions would be appreciated. Also recommendation on a better filter for a 20 gal. tank since I will be purchasing a new one and using the current as a backup.

Thank you.

I would do the coarse pad then the bio rings, you likely don't need the ammonia pad in an established tank but during the switch over you could slot it in after the bio rings to "clean" up ammonia not eaten by the bacteria.  

As for future filters you have lots of options. If you wanted another hob I personally like aquaclears, they aren't perfect but they have lots of mods you can do. 

• Like 1

You always want to filter coarse first, then finer, and finally any bio-media (although I find that sponge material makes a great media for beneficial biology.

As for filters, I too have been a fan of the Aquaclear filters for many years, but if I was buying a HOB today, I'd be tempted to get a Seachem Tidal as it has the same media flexibility, along with the submersible pump and some other nice features.

• Like 2

2 hours ago, Beginner fish owner said: