DIY water change/garden watering system

Shmaty

Hey guys! Looking for someone with some DIY experience to bounce ideas off.

I want to make a rain collection system for my garden and i'm thinking it would be great to take my water change water and pump it into the collection tanks as well. I've zero experience with plumbing but I see the distance to the garden/location of the collection tanks as being a potential problem.

I can provide details later. Right now, I am curious if anyone has done anything like this and what thoughts people may have. In the past I just filled a 5 gallon bucket and hand carried it to my plants, but that work anymore. My tank volume has quadrupled and my garden is no longer 10 feet away, it's more like 150' 💩

🛠 send help!

I've been collecting rainwater for my garden for years and your bigger issue will be what to do with all of that rainwater.  My house has a footprint of about 748 sq. ft. One inch of rain is 0.08333 ft. of rain. So I end up with about 62.33 cubic feet of rainwater whenever it rains an inch. One cubic foot of water is about 7.48 gallons. So for one inch of rain it collects about 466 gallons of water. And we get an inch of rain fairly regularly here. You need to account for how to handle the overflow when your storage tanks get full.

The distance to the rainwater storage shouldn't be an issue unless your aquariums are in the basement. Whatever you use for rainwater storage will likely be on or under the ground. Assuming your tanks are taller than the rainwater inlets then gravity will carry the aquarium water to the storage tanks. Even a smallish pump that you can connect to a garden hose like the transfer pumps ($50-ish) should be more than adequate if you need a pump to move the water. 

• Thanks 1

OOF! 

Looks like i'd be looking at roughly the same amount of rainfall. I honestly hadn't thought it would account for that much. Guess I need to go back to the drawling board.