Rymur4

Hello everyone, I am very new to fish keeping and I recently cycled my 20 gallon tank about a week ago. on December 24th I added a few live plants and the next day my tests are showing 0.50 ammonia and 0.25 nitrite. I am wondering if me stirring up all the gravel and substrate in my tank caused the bacteria to go out of wack as my tank is now cloudy. If anyone has any ideas on what the cause could be that would be great!!

Adding plants shouldn’t have upset the cycle, and I don’t believe that cloudy water from your substrate would be harmful either.  How long did it take to get your aquarium fully cycled?   Do you mind going over some of the cycling steps you took to get to this point?   Also for the record, have you added fish since cycling the tank? 

Edited by PhillipHols

Hello, For cycling I actually did a fish in cycle with my betta fish. It took about 1 month for my tank to cycle. The steps that I took was I added some of that bacteria in the bottle the brand that I used was API quickstart. That did not seem to work very well but I did see ammonia get up to about 1ppm then fall down to zero followed by nitrites which then fell down to zero. I would do 20% water changes every other day while it was cycling using Seachem prime to detoxify the ammonia and nitrite for my fish. 

1 hour ago, Rymur4 said:

Hello, For cycling I actually did a fish in cycle with my betta fish. It took about 1 month for my tank to cycle. The steps that I took was I added some of that bacteria in the bottle the brand that I used was API quickstart. That did not seem to work very well but I did see ammonia get up to about 1ppm then fall down to zero followed by nitrites which then fell down to zero. I would do 20% water changes every other day while it was cycling using Seachem prime to detoxify the ammonia and nitrite for my fish.