What background plants are fluffy and dense cover?

On 3/21/2024 at 1:36 PM, clownbaby said:

I am looking for background plants for my 30 gallon tank, ideally they'd be high-light (about ten hours), no CO2, and good for shy fish to hide in.

Any recommendations? 

I have no experience with it, but I know a lot of people use guppy grass or hornwort for those purposes.

• Like 2
  • Love 1

On 3/21/2024 at 2:49 PM, Whitecloud09 said:

I hear hornwort is good for coverage

hornwort is great for coverage. and excellent at removing nitrates. it is a floater though. a very good one. I use it in all my tanks. when it gets too overgrown, just rip off a small bit and start again. makes perfect cover for small fry

• Like 1
  • Love 1

Posted (edited)
On 3/21/2024 at 2:16 PM, JoeQ said:

Green CABOMBA is another option.

41W0gL50akL.jpg

NO WAY?! REALLY??? This has been my favorite plant for so long!!! I had just heard it needs CO2... is this not the case?? Because if I can have Cabomba I WILL!!!!! 

On 3/21/2024 at 2:09 PM, JoeQ said:

Im currently big on Green Myrio, big, fluffy and beginner friendly

20240321_170901.jpg

I LOVE YOUR FISH BY THE WAY @JoeQ !!!!! So cute and expressive, I can't help myself !!! XD

Screenshot2024-03-229_05_48AM.png.587a6da2c613a8e5b7faf4f256b08029.png

Edited by clownbaby
spelling

On 3/22/2024 at 12:04 PM, clownbaby said:

NO WAY?! REALLY??? This has been my favorite plant for so long!!! I had just heard it needs CO2... is this not the case?? Because if I can have Cabomba I WILL!!!!!

That isn’t a picture from my tank,  just one from a quick Google search. I also do not think cabomba is a hard plant to grow requiring co2. The issue maybe finding a converted specimen since many states classify cabomba as an invasive species and wont ship to certain states.

• Like 1

On 3/22/2024 at 9:28 AM, JoeQ said: