Filter for Phoenix Rasboras and Pygmy Cory Doras

Hi everyone, 

Have been successful in keeping 6 Phoenix Rasboras and one Tiger Nerite snail in 5-gallon tank. I have both tiny and medium size Anubias plants. I have them in a mini bow aquarium that has a slow flow filter that I added a sponge filter to the tank to clean water better. I also use a pre-filter sponge on intake of filter that came with aquarium.

Now I want to buy a 10-gallon tank and choose a filter that will not blow my fish away.  I've been searching for a good filter but reviews say many of them have a strong flow or you cannot adjust the flow. I'm getting frustrated in the search. Would two sponge filters be better for my needs, or do you have some suggestions? I'm still learning. I also want to get a few Pygmy Cory Doras and 4 more Rasboras to add later to the tank.  Appreciate your help.

Edited by Fishingaround
more important information to add.

On 3/3/2024 at 7:01 PM, Fishingaround said:

Wow, that is impressive, your Rasboras look very healthy. Does feeding them fresh and frozen brine shrimp cause any problems to the filters? Sometimes I accidentally over-feed my rasboras. 

I feed frozen cyclops, live bbs and live microworms but i try to feed only a smidge and maybe bit more often. I added faunus ater to eat the debris in the substrate to help with the overfeed 🙂

• Like 1

On 3/3/2024 at 7:26 PM, Fishingaround said:

Is there a group in the forum that raise Rasboras and exchange information? I would like to try the micro worms but will have to learn more about them. But that is the adventure of the hobby.

Not sure to be honest, I can help you with info on the microworms, but not the culture, you need to ask someone to send you some. I prefere walter worms to micro worms, I have not had banana worms to test. Their nutritional value is identical, they last the same time in the water column, their size is the same, so not that much of a difference.