Issues with Fry

Gliderzz

Have some fry dying for no obvious reason.

Ammonia: 0ppm

Nitrite: 0ppm

Nitrate: 20ppm

ph = around 8.2

temp = 80-82 f

Two of my biggest fry suddenly developed swim bladder issues, sporadic swimming, labored breathing, & turned pale. Have another fry species sick in a different tank, but these symptoms do not match. Have had a couple fry die a week or two ago, though I assumed they were just too weak since these fry were very small, slow growing & fragile.

Started with one, then became two. Neither are dead but they're pretty close. They've been like this for a good few hours

I'm no expert, but after six weeks I'm not sure vinegar eels and paramecia are going to be enough to sustain them?  Vinegar eels in particular are usually a bridge to get to bigger foods like BBS.  Truthfully, I don't know about honey gourami fry in particular, so take this for what it's worth.

How many did you start with and how many are there now?  How many are left?

Edited by jwcarlson
  • Like 1

thanks for the replies! Now that you mention it, the symptoms do remind me of starvation. I've had a couple cory fry not eat before and unfortunately starve. Symptoms were very similar. And yeah, they've been on vinegar eels for a long time at this point. The only slightly contradictory thing is that their bellies do not look empty. They look pretty big & I saw them eating fine just a couple days ago.

As a quick update, both fry have passed, and now a small one is acting the same. Gonna check water params again since the dead fish could've spiked the ammonia

I'll start hatching bbs & try to get some good nutrients into them

On 12/1/2023 at 3:27 PM, Gliderzz said: