Hello to the community !

Marie

Hi everyone !

Super nice to be part of this community! I am looking forward having contact with other fish keepers. I only know one guy (a colleague) who keeps fish, but I would like to meet more people out there.

But to tell you the truth, I am new to the hobby ! I have always wanted to have aquariums but I never had, before I moved last summer to the US from Europe. I did a lot of research, watched a lot of videos, read a lot of articles and when I thought I was ready I bought a 36 gallons bowfront aquarium. And I did what beginners do: mistakes ! Tank was cycled for a few weeks (kickstart with used media) and I was ready to add fish. I wanted some tetras to school in the tank, some hardy fishes…. in spite of everything I heard, I don’t know what happened but … I asked advice in one of the big chain pet stores. I ended up with serpae and red eye tetras and created a tank of monsters that don’t stop nipping at each other 😩 I was sad because I wanted to add later Angels or other fishes but no way they could live in there. Anyway, life is made of decisions, and I had to take responsibility. These guys are thriving in there. Tank is planted, some Kuhli loaches, otocinclus and pigmy corys came to join them and this little world is really well balanced. Some nerite snails and ghost shrimp help taking take of it too.
But I had this feeling of these fishes not being the ones I wanted, I wanted to make something else … thats how I got multi tank syndrome.

I got a 10 gallons and a 5 gallons on second hand. In the 10 gallon I put males endlers + ghost shrimps + mystery snail, then in the 5 gallon just a betta, named Kirby (pink guy)

Then I got another 10 gallons, originally for cherry shrimp but that was a complete disaster I spent months trying but I gave up. Now it hosts a school of chili rasboras 

Latest acquisition is a 20 gallon, still cycling, where I want to put ember tetras and honey gouramis.