Im feeling a bit awkward putting isopod stuff on my journal, and my info thread isnt a good place for me to journal either, so here's a new journal. Im a complete newbie to isopods, im planning on Armidilidum Maculatum, or Zebras.

My container is a 9gallon, 18x10.5x11. Im generally following the guidelines of this video but my substrate is a bit different:

This is the substrate Serpa reccomends (im basing mine off of it):

Screenshot_2023-09-15_11-28-38.png.be0a07836f0d102ced84169ef76a4aed.png

Im pretty much using those ratios, but im using Potting soil instead of topsoil, and the coco chips are outside my budget. (the potting soil has coco fiber in it already). Im waiting for the Sphagnum and Orchid bark to  arrive in the mail but i put everything else together already. I also think i may need to order more potting soil, i didnt quite realize how much of it i needed and it was a half full bag, fortunately its pretty cheap. I havent really done any ventilation holes yet because i havent quite decided on the species and dont want to make any mistakes (i only have one bin). My substrate so far (unit is ACO catch cup full):

3units potting soil

1/2 unit sand

1/2 unit charcoal.

This is what it looks like:

Not too deep, which is why i think ill need multiple rounds of this mixture to get a good depth. Thats the disadvantage of a bigger container, it needs more substrate. I think it will take me 1 or 2 more rounds of my mixture to get the depth that i want.

Screenshot_2023-09-24_10-49-50.png.bf2775dd2ffb02a84dcacfd98b708f05.png

Ventilation wise most of the species im looking at are medium to high ventilation species. So i though 2 big holes on the lid on the dry side, and a few smaller holes going the short way across the dry side, then no holes in the hydration station. Id cover the holes with a fine netting to keep things out, though its not a gasket container so that might make no difference.