TDS off the charts

Herefishie

As a relative newbie, I've been watching YouTube videos for a couple of months pretty much nonstop. I ordered a TDS meter and I was shocked at how high my tanks are. I have two fish tanks and one shrimp tank. They are all hovering around 850 (tap water). I have never lost a fish since I started keeping them in September 2022. Still, I have to assume they are stressed from these elevated numbers. I'm going to start doing some 20% water changes with RO water in hopes of bringing it down.  I guess ignorance was bliss? I feel bad that they might be suffering and I didn't even know it. I have an API kit and I check all of my parameters but the TDS was one I never even thought of until YouTube mentioned it. I'm sorry fish, mystery snail and shrimp! 😢

Please watch this. Cory explains tds and its non-helpfulness very well. I would put the tds meter in a drawer same place mine lives unused as a lifetime hobbyist. They are not very useful unless you need the electrical conductivity if your water. 
When I first heard tds harms critters I bought a meter also and panicked. My tap is 375-450 out of the spigot. 

A few friends explained the tds reality to me just the way Cory explained in this video. I’ve never used a tds meter again. I have fish of all types breeding successfully and tons of fry in all my tanks. I breed many snail types and have massive overpopulation of shrimp as well. 
Hope this sets your mind at ease. 
Just want to add fluctuation in ph by adding ro water is much more stressful to critters. 

• Like 2
  • Love 1

On 4/26/2023 at 4:10 PM, Herefishie said:

They are all hovering around 850 (tap water). I have never lost a fish since I started keeping them in September 2022. Still, I have to assume they are stressed from these elevated numbers.

Alright so before more stress is introduced let's check on a few things.