Sexing/Paing Angelfish for breeding

Goosedub

Hello fish fam,

I was wondering if anyone has any tips out there for getting your angels to pair off. I have 2 groups of angels in 20s. They are pretty clearly at breeding age and Inhave been waiting for them to pair off, but they just kind of hang out in a group. Anyone have tricks for getting them to pair off so I can whittle them down to a pair and get them spawning?

06EF59FF-825F-44F7-9910-9402D29D2B3B.jpeg

• Like 1

I too have done it exactly as @T. Payne said. I’ve let them pair off naturally and then pull the eggs when they spawn. 

Right now I’m working with a m/f pair that were paired up and breeding at one point, that pair broke, and now I have them isolated to pair up and spawn again. I’m keeping them fat and happy with bloodworms, tubifex worms, and krill flakes and am just biding my time until they pair again. This is my first try with a known m/f and trying to induce them to spawn. 

On 11/27/2022 at 7:54 AM, Goosedub said:

Hello fish fam,

I was wondering if anyone has any tips out there for getting your angels to pair off. I have 2 groups of angels in 20s. They are pretty clearly at breeding age and Inhave been waiting for them to pair off, but they just kind of hang out in a group. Anyone have tricks for getting them to pair off so I can whittle them down to a pair and get them spawning?

I also had a group of angelfish and I believe that in such a small space it be harder for them to pair off. I had 6 angelfish in my 55 gallon and all 6 paired off naturally and went into their own sections. I recommend getting at least a 40 breeder and see if they pair off naturally.

On 11/27/2022 at 8:29 PM, DiscusLover said:

I also had a group of angelfish and I believe that in such a small space it be harder for them to pair off. I had 6 angelfish in my 55 gallon and all 6 paired off naturally and went into their own sections. I recommend getting at least a 40 breeder and see if they pair off naturally.