Newbie here, help!

Saly

Hi, newbie here! I have a question about quarantining a new fish. So I have one fish, a beta, and it's the only one that will go into a 10 gallon planted tank. He seems healthy but I was going to administer the trio meds as a precaution. My tank hasn't cycled yet. Should I wait until the tank has cycled and keep it in it's small tank right now? I got him recently and his current tank (half gallon tank - I know, I didn't know better until after I bought him hence the 10 gallon tank upgrade) hasnt cycled yet either. So how sound I go about administering the trio? Should I put him in a quarantine tank, and Wait until the quarantine tank cycles and then dose? Or should I wait until his display tank cycles then dose in there? And 1 week after the dosing, does he still need to be quarantined or can I move him to his permanent home?  And do I use the same products and dosing if I have shrimp too? Sorry, lots of questions. I feel like I'm over thinking this. 

• Like 1

Hey Saly! Welcome to the hobby and the forum!

If I was in your shoes, I would try to source some TurboStart, and keep your betta in the 10 gallon. The 10 gallons of water vs. the 1/2 gallon gives you a way bigger margin for error, and the TurboStart will help you get through the cycle. It’s marketed as a product that promotes a safe fish-in cycle, and I used the product early on in my hobby before I had tons of cycled media for new tanks. I think it’s a good product and could be very useful to you. 

I recommend testing often, and changing water as needed. That’s what I’d do if I were in your spot. 

As far as meditating, that’s gonna be your call. I could see you using the trio out of the gate, but I could also see not treating and keeping the meds on hand should you need them. Now, if you ever add new fish to the tank, I would definitely recommend quarantining and medicating those new fish. 

Hope this helps!

Edited by AllFishNoBrakes