Calling all who know about invasive freshwater mussels. Lets fight the Zebra and Quagga mussels.

Minanora

Alright Fam,

I'm a class 1 mussel inspector for two of my local lake ramps. I have it out for Zebra and Quagga mussels.

However, as a person who keeps fish. I have had experience with Betel Nut Palm extract, aka, "No Planaria".

COULD THIS KILL MUSSELS!?

I have no access to invasive mussels to test this. Does anyone? Could we help rid our smaller bodies of water and water infrastructure of mussels with this organic solution? ( redacted due to being posted while sleep deprived: Maybe it would work, but it could also kill a lot of other things and create a huge ammonia spike, just like in an aquarium). I have reached out to our local water quality team and the EPA and gotten no response.

We need to protect our waterways. Let's do our best to fight the spread of zebra and quagga mussels.

This is a really big deal. Someone should pin this. I'm not being silly. If we can find a way to rid bodies of water of these mussels, without killing fish and native species; we need to act. (redacted because I was sleepy and that's a great idea, but it would not work without harming a lot of other things in the lake)

🤦🏻‍♀️Now that it's morning time; I want to update this. IF it did kill mussels: We could use the extract on boats and other items and equipment that hold water and create an environment that could host hitchhikers.

These mussels are a HUGE deal and everyone needs to be educated. If you have a boat, you're responsible for keeping invasive mussels out of our lakes and waterways. If you're interested in learning about the ways to stop the spread of invasive mussels, the following links are great resources.

https://fws.gov/story/clean-drain-dry

https://stopaquatichitchhikers.org/

DMM-Web-Badge-1.jpg.20fc4c61dad4ab998a4c5684751c38f7.jpg

Edited by Minanora
I was up too late.
  • Love 1