Guppy Genetics

Cinnebuns

I'm trying to do my own research on this and my head is spinning. I understand basic genetics but can't find the answer to what specifically I'm looking for. I would like to know what type of traits fin size and color are so I can more wisely pick which I want to breed together. Recessive/dominant or X/Y?  I heard somewhere that color is inherited from the male. Does this make color a Y trait? How does tail size fit in?  Those are the only 2 traits I'm really worried about for now. Health ofc is always a factor. 

Edit:  additional question:  one thing I did understand from some of the charts I read is that I never saw purple listed. Is purple a genetic anomaly or something? It reminds me of something someone on Facebook once said to me about purple guppies not being natural. Is this a color I should not try for?

Edited by Cinnebuns
  • Like 2

I’m not an expert. Just a low-brow understanding. I’m glad to be corrected!

The way I think about this is that there are a variety of different traits. Let’s number them something like this…

1. Fin size

2. Fin color

3. Body color

Now, to simplify… for each trait, let there be a Dominant X and a Recessive Y. This  would theoretically break down according to the genetic makeup of male and female into three different Punnett squares, one for each trait.

So, for example:

A large-finned male is crossed with a small-finned female. Let’s say small fins are a dominant trait. Now, the question you may not be able to answer is this: Is the small-finned female an XX or an XY? Both would appear small-finned, but one is heterozygous (XY) meaning that large-finned trait will distribute more readily to fry. Let’s say she’s XY. The male is YY. So.. fry end up distributing this trait like this…

50% = XY

50% = YY

04E3474F-E3F8-4DDB-8FA7-B84CAC3CED25.jpeg.f011c9e68d60fded9c00a3c20d86a362.jpeg

Half will look small-finned (dominant heterozygous), half will look long-finned (recessive).