Newbie saying hi from Vancouver, Canada!

tmackenzie

Hi Everyone! 

I'm brand new to the hobby, decided to get a tank partially because I thought it would be good for my toddler, and partly because I wanted some life in the house! We live in a strictly no pet building, but pretty sure I can get away with fish 🙂 . The irony is that the toddler barely cares (so far), and I am becoming obsessed. 

Got a 12 gallon tank and a bunch of plants about a month ago and just added five neon tetras a few days ago. I am absolutely loving it and looking forward to adding some more friends. I've been watching a lot of Aquarium Co-op youtube videos (thanks Cory!) and am still unsure about what the best would be for my tank. I'm thinking a female betta because I like the idea of a fish with some personality, and I think the toddler would like that too. If anyone has advice on what kind of bottom feeders are best, and how many I can feasibly (and ethically!) put in I would very much appreciate it. 

Happy to be learning from all of you, especially in what seems to be such a respectful and open forum. 

Cheers! 

DSC_6509.jpg

Edited by tmackenzie
spelling mistake :)
  • Like 3

1 hour ago, Daniel said:

Wow! Very tasteful. I love the long low dimensions on the tank.

Thanks Daniel! We live in a really old building with funny nooks, so I splurged to get one that fits the space. So glad I did! 

Edited by tmackenzie