Kh and GH for Cichlids

Gideyon

I've been researching and planning a 10 gallon shell dweller tank.  I know they prefer water with higher pH, GH, and KH.  I finally got some test strip to check the latter 2. I checked my betta tank and tap water. 

pH is about 7-7.2

KH is 40

GH is probably 60 (I'm not good with color shade matching)

All 3 of these values are not ideal for African cichlids. 

I've researched methods such as crushed coral to raise these values. But it doesn't last. 

Then I read about CaribSea African cichlid sand that supposedly keeps the values where they need to be for the life of the aquarium. 

Then I read about aragonite. 

Then I read about  oolite Aragonite. 

I think I'm just confused and overwhelmed by this. 

Can someone share some wisdom here?   Either experience with shell dwellers, any of these products, and whether or not it really does maintain levels for the life of the tank.   

On 6/15/2021 at 8:10 PM, Gideyon said:

I've been researching and planning a 10 gallon shell dweller tank.  I know they prefer water with higher pH, GH, and KH.  I finally got some test strip to check the latter 2. I checked my betta tank and tap water. 

pH is about 7-7.2

KH is 40

GH is probably 60 (I'm not good with color shade matching)

All 3 of these values are not ideal for African cichlids. 

I've researched methods such as crushed coral to raise these values. But it doesn't last. 

Then I read about CaribSea African cichlid sand that supposedly keeps the values where they need to be for the life of the aquarium. 

Then I read about aragonite. 

Then I read about  oolite Aragonite. 

I think I'm just confused and overwhelmed by this. 

Can someone share some wisdom here?   Either experience with shell dwellers, any of these products, and whether or not it really does maintain levels for the life of the tank.