Algae ID

keddre

Hello @keddre, I am not an expert in algae so maybe someone else can help you better than I can but it looks like staghorn algae to me. Someone please correct me if I am wrong. 

Could you provide some information on your lighting? What lighting fixture? How long is it on for? Intensity? 

This and your water parameters/ fertilization method and schedule would be helpful information as well. 

6 minutes ago, Isaac M said:

Hello @keddre, I am not an expert in algae so maybe someone else can help you better than I can but it looks like staghorn algae to me. Someone please correct me if I am wrong. 

Could you provide some information on your lighting? What lighting fixture? How long is it on for? Intensity? 

This and your water parameters/ fertilization method and schedule would be helpful information as well. 

Oh man that’s a lot lol. 
55 gallon

0ppm ammonia

0ppm nitrite

10-20ppm nítrate (2ml of Thrive All-in-one being auto-dosed daily. I verified that the doser is still running properly)

150-300ppm GH (crushed coral but this is stable)

80ppm KH (this is the main reason I use crushed coral, as it’s almost 0 from tap)

PH somewhere between 7.4-7.6

light: marineland something (sorry I got it in high school and the name and original charger are long gone)

Blue leds: 9am-10pm

Blue &white leds: 10am-9pm

ferts:

Thrive and easy root tabs (what I use at a given month depends on which website I’m on) (also I have 4 swords and 3 lillies so I THINK I need to go monthly)

Thrive all-in-one: 1ml at 9:50am and 1ml at 13:00 daily (this is the minimum to keep 10ppm of nitrates and has been working for a few months, this algae “appears” new, but I may just now be noticing it)

“Flouramax” substrate that I’m certain is a dud because it can’t grow plants for poo (3” in planted areas), sand/gravel mixture in originally unplanted area

stocking: 21 white clouds, 5 black mollies, 1 paradise fish feed once a day