Red Gills, Lethargy on Danios

d6veteran

So I've been calibrating a fairly new tank for just over 3 months and all the fish were happy until some big change this weekend.  Cory's and Plecos fine, but all 18 Danios (10 Zebra, 8 Kyathit) have gone into hiding at the bottom in the plants/driftwood, only a few come out to eat.  Just now I tried to coax them out with some food.  Several came out and I noticed red gills on at least two of them.

Internet search took me many places ... 

• Ammonia is 0, so it isn't Ammonia poisoning
  • CO2 is between 15-30ppm, but the fish are not gasping for air or going to the surface
  • So that leaves ... bacteria?  But why don't the Cory's and Plecos have it (at least they are acting normally with no red gills)?

My first tank crisis 😞

Being new to the  l hobby I am no expert but I have done some research and May have found an answer for you on another forum. It cold be flukes Which according to what I read needs to be treated. It’s apparently common in danios but doesn’t effect other fish. Hope this helps

I’m by no means an expert and won’t comment on the cause, but I will say in my experience corys and plecos are the last ones to show signs of the problem but the first ones to struggle from medications. If you can separate them for treatment I would. One of my worst days is when I inadvertently killed a couple plecos while treating a nasty (finally figured out...I think) columnaris infection from a really popular Lfs. I still call it my “death tank” and always have regret when I look at it. Also, I totally freaked out and went crazy on treatment, which is probably the worst response. I’d use every available resource to try and really pin down what’s happening and treat appropriately.

in a pinch, you can relocate to a plastic bin with an air stone and a usb pump from Aquarium Co-op for the catfish and work on saving the danios.

good luck!