First time new fish QT "here we go"

Sandra the fish rookie

Hi ~

I have been on the look out to increase my corydora population in my main tank. Well, my LFS got some peppered corydora's and albinos as well which will be perfect for my existing little dude's in my main tank. 

I am getting 2 of each type with give me a total of 6 corydora in the tank (3 of each species).  I asked them to hold them for me. I will be picking them up today. I set up my QT tank on Monday afternoon. I have a sponge filter from my main tank (advice I got from all of you!) and have 1 boring rock.. and a plastic plant that kept falling over.. I also had some plastic wall plants, that I used for a home project, that I cut into carpets for additional security. I can either sterilize or ditch them (I have a giant box of this stuff). 

This is my first time.. and will admit, that I a bit nervous. Am I missing anything? Please let me know. 

The last time I sued this tank, was for a sick fish that died (see Guppy work saga in old post). 

Any additional feed back would be appreciated. I did the chemistry this morning:

PH 7.4

Ammonia 0ppm

Nitrites: 0ppm

Nitrates: 0ppm

Temp was 75 but I have boosted it up to 78ish.. 

20210310_143207.jpg

• Like 3

Greeetings! 

Looks good! Personally, I like a minimal tank to start. Over time you find things you wanna add either for benefits or aesthetic. Building up my tank as I go; upgrades and new additions. Makes the hobby long lasting and more enjoyable. I started with a 20 gal and now have moved into a 37gal. I prefer live plants. The oxygenate, look nice and I have found them to be easy to maintain. 2 years ago had 1 tank now I have 4 and a grow out. It's a slippery slope. lol.  

Are you looking to breed those corys (in there)? 

@SkarahW No I don't plan to breed them. I am just doing QT prior to adding them to my existing tank which has 1 Guppy, 2 Corydorya's 1 Mystery snail, and a Ramshon snail.