KH & GH Readings from API test kit

Hi ~

I decided to purchase the API GH & KH kit to ensure that my readings are accurate. I am a bit concerned by the following difference between this test kit and the Tetra Easy strips readings (which I struggle with sometimes)

KH (7 drops) = 7 degrees or 125.3 ppm

GH (12 drops) 12 degrees or 214.8 PPM (YIKES) *** Should I be worried about this? if so what do I do?

I have a wonder shell in the aquarium, should I remove it? 

My PH is between 7.3 -7.4 ppm

My Ammonia suddenly went up from yesterday to 0.25-0.30 ppm so I am going to do a water change to deal with that.

I'm no expert, so others should weigh in, but when I kept tanks as a teenager I had KH and GH values between 9 and 12.  My fish seemed fine....my tap water was hard, so my aquarium water was as well. 

You can check your tap water (or whatever water source you use for water changes), but the wonder shell is likely what's raising the GH...why do you have it in there?  For snails and shrimp (I'm guessing)?  The high KH and GH are probably not harming anything if your fish look fine...I guess if it bothers you could just put half the wonder shell in at a time?  

RE: ammonia.  Test it again.  If the tubes are not squeaky clean, I get low, non-zero ammonia and nitrite readings.  I always rinse and re-test, and always get 0 the second time.  Other than that, look for perhaps a dead fishy somewhere?  But yeah, water changes rarely hurt...

kh and gh ranges depend on fish, but it's also a montra that you'll come across that stable parameters are more important than absolute values (with exceptions like ammonia, stable 0 is universally best).

side note pH is unitless not ppm.

WRT the tetra strips, i think they're garbage for kh and gh.  at least in my hands.  the kh pad comes out dark in the middle and light on the edge for me.  how am i supposed to read that?  And the gh disagrees with the api titration (drop) test.