Pakal

Hello, quick question for all you experienced fish-keepers. (I'm a begginer)

In a community tank with a Betta, some Corydoras, a Nerite snail, and some Endlers, how often would you feed the tank, how would you feed the tank, and what would you feed the tank?

2 minutes ago, Pakal said:

Hello, quick question for all you experienced fish-keepers. (I'm a begginer)

In a community tank with a Betta, some Corydoras, a Nerite snail, and some Endlers, how often would you feed the tank, how would you feed the tank, and what would you feed the tank?

I've only been keeping fish for a year and a half, so I am still a beginner, but I'll give some of my suggestions anyway. I would feed flake as a staple for the top dwellers (betta, Endler's livebearers), and then feed shrimp pellets or bottom feeder pellets/wafers of some sort for the Corydoras and snail. If you wanted to, you could supplement both every now and then by providing freeze-dried bloodworms for the top-dwellers and Repashy gel food for the bottom dwellers (these are easy to prepare they are not live foods they are premade). In my tank I have a gourami, Endler's livebearers, cories, a pleco, shrimp, and snails, and it works fine. The only thing I would watch out for is the betta coming down and chasing the bottom dwellers away from the food. My gourami did this, so I had to move him to another tank so that my cories could eat in peace. If your betta does this, drop the sinking wafers in the back of the tank behind decorations or plants so that the cories can get to it but not the betta.

Hope this helps.

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1

Personally, I like to feed multiple smaller meals throughout the day.

If you are feeding flake food, I would submerge a pinch of it under the water so that it sinks right away to make sure the cories get there fair share. The betta and endlers will pick from the water column fine.